DEC. 24, 1937

Philadelphia Blue Lodge held election of officers with the following results: Worship Master, M.B. Henley, Senior Warden, Dees Stribling, Junior Warden, Idson Parker, Secretary, S.B. King, Treasurer, A.F. Turner, Senior Deacon, J.C. Williams, Junior Deacon, L.L. Palmer, Tyler and Beeman Hardy.


Mississippi’s Master agriculture teacher for 1936-37 is B.M. Trapp,  son of Mr. and Mrs. J.E. Trapp of Neshoba County.

Mr. Trapp’s election from 172 other vocational teachers of Mississippi is announced by F.J. Hubbard, state director of vocational education.

 His award will be a gold watch.

DEC. 26, 1947

Making an end run around the “Swamp Trees” of the Mississippi delta, with a seven point buck tied to his mount, is none other than Budgie Rush.

 Budgie said he used the mule to try out a few new places that he intends to impart to certain Mississippi coaches for next season.


Twenty-one years of service in a public position is a long time.

 This is the record of Walker Wood as Secretary of State of Mississippi.

 He will soon close his official services in this department of government. Mr. Wood has been active and has helped to develop the state during this period He has served with nine governors, Whitfield, Murphree, Bilbo Conner, White, Johnson, Bailey, and Wright.

Mr. Wood is a native Mississippian and has spent his life in the state and actively promoting the best interest of his people.

DEC. 28, 1967

J.R. “Bob” Flautt has been selected by the Progressive Farmer as 1967 Man of the Year in service to Mississippi Agriculture.

Flautt is cited for his great influence in the establishment of a new cotton laboratory in Stoneville, Miss., and numerous other achievements benefitting his state.

 Flautt is an outstanding cotton farmer in Tallahatchie County, Miss. He is a past president of the Delta Council, and served 12 years as chairman of the Delta Council.


The six basketball players who participated in Philadelphia Invitational Tournament were named tops in tournament competitions.

The girls are Nancy Hembree, best offensive girl, Sylvia White, best defensive girl, Deborah Norwood, Louisville, most valuable girl, Tommy Sikes, best offensive boy, Mike Hailey, most valuable boy, and Larry Fulton, best defensive boy.

DEC. 29, 1977

The Rev. Jerry Lundy, pastor of the Fellowship Baptist Church in Philadelphia, is one of five sophomore students at Clarke College selected for inclusion in the 1977-78 edition of Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges. The Rev., Mr. Lundy has been active in campus life and serves as an officer of the Ministerial Association at Clarke.


Mr. Rodney Foil has been named director, Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station, at Mississippi State University.

Foil, dean of MSU’s School of Forest Resources and MAFES associate director since 1974, is responsible for a comprehensive research program conducted by 15 campus departments and 10 branch stations strategically located throughout Mississippi.

DEC. 30, 1987

Winners in the Science Fiction Contest in Mrs. LaRose Chandler’s and Mrs. Carleen Gilmore’s sixth grade reading class at Neshoba Central Elementary are Leslie Hatcher, first; Tim Moore, second; and Sabrina Alexander, third.


Retiring East Central Junior College Board of Trustee member Prentice Copeland received a plaque of appreciation from Board Chairman Henry B. “Bubba” Hudspeth, of Louisville, and Dr. Eddie Smith, ECJC President.

Copland, of Philadelphia, is retiring as Neshoba County superintendent of education and has served 21 years on the ECJC Board.

Copeland was recently honored in Philadelphia for his 35 years of service to education.


Neshoba Central’s Murphy Thompson is one of the best defensive and offensive line prospects for college football. The Rocket senior played tight end and defensive tackle for this year’s successful team.

The Jackson paper recognized Thompson just recently and also mentioned about 12 other of the state’s top high school prospects for each of the defensive and offensive lines.

DEC. 31, 1997

Neshoba County’s Olivia Irons won the title of Miss Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation during competition at Farm Bureau’s 76th annual meeting in Biloxi. Miss Irons, 21, is the daughter of Kathy and Ricky Irons. She will reign for one year as she travels throughout Mississippi promoting Farm Bureau and agriculture.


Air Force Airman Philip Cole has completed the airlift electrical and environmental systems apprentice course at Sheppard Air Force Base, Wichita Falls, Texas.

Students are taught the principles of operation and troubleshooting of typical aircraft electro-environmental systems, subsystems, components, wiring, and soldering. Also included were the principles of aircraft management systems, use of test equipment, and ground safety.


Three Leake Academy cheerleaders will be cheering in England in New Year’s Day parade in London. The girls are; Amanda Hillman, Jill Gray, and Jenni Evans, all three are seniors. Corby Mason of Neshoba Central was also chosen to cheer in the New Year’s Day parade in London. She is also a senior. All four were chosen All-Stars at various Universal Cheerleader Association camps last summer. This is the 10th year that UCA has performed in the London parade.

DEC. 26, 2007

Hannah Turk, six year 4-H member, placed first with her pony Pepper Anne in the Pone Mares class (48 inch and under) for ages 8-13 at the Southeast District 4-H Horse Show held Hattiesburg.


Joanie L. Engram of Philadelphia was the winner in the Winter Wonderland Window Contest, sponsored by the Philadelphia Main Street Association. She received gifts from area merchants valued at over $1,500. Main Street Director Lisa Smith thanked all of the merchants who donated to this year’s contest.


Christian Young is the winner of the Rocket Hoopsters T-shirt design contest. Christian’s design was chosen as the best design out 147 entries from Neshoba Central Elementary School. The Rocket Hoopsters is a new basketball drill team consisting of 109 students from Neshoba Central Elementary School. They perform ball handling drills at every home basketball game.