Philadelphia's Cortney Smith dives into the end zone for a touchdown.
Philadelphia's Cortney Smith dives into the end zone for a touchdown.
Philadelphia High School linebacker Chris Griffin was named Co-Most Valuable Defensive Player on the 2017 All-District 4-2A football team.

Griffin was among 16 members of the Tornado football team who received all-region honors. Philadelphia went 12-2 last season and made it to the third round of the Class 2A state football playoffs.

Griffin was a senior starter. He finished with 156 total tackles and 79 solos. He shared the honor with Scott Central’s junior linebacker Navonteque Strong.

The Tornadoes had six players to be named to the All-Region 4-2A Super 22 team. They were running back Cortney Smith, wide receiver Stetson Moore, offensive linemen Dominic Eiland and Drex Gladney, linebacker Javon Pickens and defensive back Malik Hickman.

Those members of the Tornadoes who made first team all-region were Jaylon Horne, Demonta Moore, Jz’markeyus Hobbs, Deiondre Fox, Lideatrick Griffin and Jalen Griffin.

Members of the Philadelphia team who earned honorable mentions were C.J. Burnside, Jaylon Griffin, Stefun King and Kendrick Day.



Michael McDonald was the only member of the Yellowjackets team to receive a spot on the Super 22 team. Colby Ferguson was named to the first team while honorable mentions went to Lane Hanna and Dustin Welborn.


The rest of Super 22

Senior quarterback T.J. Wash of Scott Central was voted the Most Valuable Player for the all-region team. Senior running back Marquarious Qualls of Lake was named the Most Valuable Offensive Player for the region.

Other members of the Super 22 by position were:

Quarterback: Tre Hillie of Newton High School;

Running back: Ken Butler of Scott Central;

Wide Receivers: Javarious Moore of Newton High School and Ken Patrick of Scott Central;

Offensive linemen: Carson Williams of Scott Central, Cole Nester of Lake and Ravell Buckley of Newton High School;

Defensive linemen: Zeke Chapman and Aaron Campbell of Lake, and Hydee Barlow and Oshaun McCubbins of Scott Central;

Linebackers: Sirvares Snow of Newton High and Vontae McDonald of Scott Central;

Defensive Backs: Zackariah Johnson and Alex Hamilton, both of Newton High.


Rest of First team and honorable mentions:

Scott Central: Other Rebels making first team were D.J. Black, Logan Parisi, Cameron Lewis, Curtis Jones, Jordan Strong, Kobe Richmad and K.D. Lewis. Honorable mentions included Lajarvis Patrick and Daquan Murrell.

Lake: Other Hornets making first team were Seth Prestage, Tim Norris, Danarrious Hughes and Johnny Johnson. Those earning honorable mentions were Zywon Ledbetter, Cantrell Banks, D’Alex Jennings, Ethan Gray and Theory Harris.

Newton High: Those members of the Tigers earning first team honors were Jamariaus Ford, Zachary Johnson, Aurelius Hardy and Courtney Hardaway. Devin Robinson and Ray Roberts were honorable mentions.

This team was selected by the region coaches.